Commission: temporary restrictions on Ukrainian products due to logistical bottlenecks

The EU Commission decided to temporarily restrict the import of four Ukrainian agricultural products in Bulgaria, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia and Romania. The restrictions concern wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seed, and they aim to “alleviate logistical bottlenecks experienced in these five Member States”.

The Commission will keep those restrictions in place between 2 May and 5 June. The institution underlined that those products will be able to circulate in the rest of EU Member States, while the restrictions will not affect their transit via the five countries in question. However, it did not exclude the possibility of extending those restrictions after 5 June if the situation in the five countries does not improve.

Read more about these restrictions in the original newspost on