Published: 23/2/2016 10:49 - Modified: 3/7/2023 11:09

About ESC

The European Shippers' Council is a non-profit European organisation representing cargo owners i.e. freight transport interests of around 100.000 companies throughout Europe, whether manufacturers, retailers, wholesalers (import and export, intercontinental). Collectively they are referred to as ‘shippers’ as neutral user of transport (all modes: air; road, rail, waterborne). ESC was established in 1963.

The global ESC network consists of national shippers’ associations, European commodity trade association (e.g. chemical, steel, paper) and corporate members among which well-known multinational brands (e.g. FMCG and food sector). ESC aims at creating a level playing field in Europe and between continents.

Internationally, the ESC works closely with the Asian Shippers’ Association (ASA) and the American Association of Exporters and Importers (AAEI), together forming the Global Shippers Alliance (GSA).

Board of Directors

The European Shippers' Council Board of Directors is composed as follows:

Roman Stiftner (WKO, Austria), President

Bart Jan Koopman (evofenedex, the Netherlands), Vice-President

Denis Choumert (AUTF, France), Vice-President

Héctor Cordero (Transprime, Spain)

The ESC team

Secretary General

Godfried Smit

Policy Managers

Godfried Smit
Trade Facilitation
Inland Transport

Katsiaryna Kliuyeva
Air Transport

Godfried Smit
Rail Transport
Maritime Transport

Matteo Alexander Nenciolini

Project Manager

Hélder Pereira

Public Affairs

Katsiaryna Kliuyeva

Strategic Relations

Jordi Espin